Diplomats visit Rohingya refugee camps in Cox's Bazar

Jago News Desk Published: 13 September 2017, 03:43 PM
Diplomats visit Rohingya refugee camps in Cox's Bazar

Foreign diplomats stationed in Dhaka today visited different Rohingya refugee camps in Ukhia and Teknaf in the district to know for themselves about the condition of the ill-fated Rohingya refugees who fled Myanmar to Bangladesh following persecution by the Burmese army during the last couple of weeks, reports BSS.

Diplomats of 46 countries comprising ambassadors and high commissioners visited the Kutupalong and Balukhali Rohingya camps when they talked to the Rohingya people.

Foreign Minister AH Mahmood Ali, State Minister for Foreign Affairs M Shahriar Alam, Foreign Secretary M Shahidul Haque and foreign ministry senior officials accompanied them from Dhaka.

Talking to media, the diplomats said that the influx of Rohingya refugees has created a serious humanitarian crisis for Bangladesh as the country has to host millions of refugees since long.

They said that they will raise the issue to their respective countries and will remain beside Bangladesh to face the crisis.

They also committed to provide humanitarian assistance to Bangladesh to meet the huge challenges that Bangladesh has been facing over the decades by giving them shelter.

State Minister for Foreign Affairs Shahriar Alam said Bangladesh has informed all countries across the globe about the crisis since it is a huge burden for Bangladesh to provide all necessary support to the Rohingya people.

"Following the visits of diplomats, they would be able to understand the actual crisis...they can put pressure on Myanmar to take their citizens after the visit," he said, adding, "The problem was created by the Myanmar government and they'll have to resolve it."

He also urged the United Nations and other international organisations to mount pressure on Myanmar to take back Rohingyas refugees from Bangladesh.

The delegation of foreign diplomats included USA, Malaysia, Vietnam, Norway, EU, UK, Russia, Pakistan, Iraq, UAE, Spain, Nepal, Qatar, the Netherlands, Germany, South Korea, Denmark, Australia, Brunei, Switzerland, Japan, Saudi Arabia, Palestine, Egypt, Italy, Oman, Canada, Afghanistan, Bhutan, India, Iran, Turkey, Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore, Kuwait, Maldives and China.

Representatives of Human Rights Council, FAO and International Red Crescent also accompanied the delegation.