Shakib back in Bangladesh ODI squad for India series

Jago News Desk Published: 24 November 2022, 09:11 PM | Updated: 24 November 2022, 09:28 PM
Shakib back in Bangladesh ODI squad for India series

Ace allrounder Shakib Al Hasan made a comeback as the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 16-member ODI squad for the three-match series against India.

Shakib last played ODIs for Bangladesh during the side’s South Africa tour. He was instrumental in Bangladesh’s first ODI win on South African soil and later the Tigers went on to win the series by 2-1 for the first time on African den, thanks to a brilliant performance of pacer Taskin Ahmed.

The star allrounder then skipped the series against Zimbabwe. However, Bangladesh lost both ODI and T20 series to Zimbabwe.

Bangladesh named the squad without any surprise as all of the expected players were included for the high profile series.

Senior batter Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah Riyad as expectedly were named in ODI squad. Earlier, Mushfiqur retired from the T20 format while the axe fell on Mahmudullah.

The India cricket team which will arrive in Bangladesh on December 1 will also play two Test matches and the Tests are part of the ICC World Test Championship cycle 2.

This will be the first visit by the Indian side to Bangladesh for a bilateral series since 2015.

The three ODIs are slated for December 4, 7 and 10 and all of the matches will be day-night affair. The matches start at 12 PM as per Bangladesh Time.

The first Test is from December 14-18 at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram while the second Test is scheduled to be held at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium from December 22-26. The Test match will begin at 9.30 AM as per Bangladesh Time.

The India cricket team will depart for India on December 27.

Squad: Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Liton Kumer Das, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Nasum Ahmed, Mahmud Ullah, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Nurul Hasan Sohan.

Source: BSS