Hathurusinghe returns as Bangladesh head coach

Jago News Desk Published: 31 January 2023, 08:37 PM | Updated: 31 January 2023, 08:56 PM
Hathurusinghe returns as Bangladesh head coach

Ending all speculations, Chandika Hathurusighe was appointed as the head coach of Bangladesh national cricket team, a Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) press release confirmed on Tuesday.

But the BCB is yet to clear whether Hathurusinghe will take up the role of Bangladesh's Test and ODI format as it was speculated or all three formats of cricket.

Sridharan Sriram oversaw Bangladesh's T20 team during the T20 World Cup as technical consultant and there was speculation that his contract will be extended as the players highly recommended him.

Read More: Russell Domingo resigns as Bangladesh head coach

However, this will be Hathurusinghe, the former Sri Lanka batsman's second spell with the Bangladesh team which he had previously coached from 2014 to 2017. The 54-year-old Hathurusighe has reached a two-year term with the BCB which starts in February 2023.

Hathurusighe said he was excited at the prospect of returning to Bangladesh cricket.

"It's an honour to have been given this opportunity to coach the Bangladesh national team once again," he said.

"I really loved the warmth of the people and the culture of Bangladesh whenever I have been there. I'm looking forward to working with the players once again and enjoying their successes," he added.

Read More: David Moore appointed as BCB Head of Programs

BCB CEO Nizam Uddin Chowdhury has welcomed the new head coach who replaced South African Russell Domingo.

"Chandika's experience and knowledge of Bangladesh cricket will be an advantage for him and will benefit the players. He is a proven tactician and we have seen his impact on the national team during his first assignment," he added.

Some of the highlights of Hathurusighe's previous tenure include first ODI series victories over Pakistan, India and South Africa, a maiden quarterfinal appearance in a World Cup (2015) and first Test wins against England, Australia and Sri Lanka.

Source: BSS