Nine Bhashani university BCL leaders expelled

District Correspondent Tangail
Published: 24 February 2024, 10:02 PM
Nine Bhashani university BCL leaders expelled

Nine leaders of Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University unit Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) have been expelled over a factional clash.

They are Emran Hossain Mamun, AHM Apu Hossain, Shaon Ghosh, joint general secretaries, Mohammad Ullah Babu, Abidur Rahman, Rakibul Hasan Roki, Rafiul Hasan, and Sadik Iqbal, organizing secretaries, and Zobair Daula Rion, vice president of the university unit BCL.

The expelled leaders were also asked to explain within seven days why further action should not be taken against them, a press released signed by central BCL office secretary Meftahul Islam Panth said on Friday night.

The release said these leaders were expelled temporarily for their involvement in activities that go against the organization's disciplines.

Earlier, 30-40 followers of the university BCL president Manik Shitol in masks stormed Jananeta Abdul Mannan Hall around 12 midnight on February 13 and attacked the followers of general secretary Md Humayun Kabir and some general students. 

They mercilessly beat up Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Department student Sohanur Rahman and also beat up another student named Joy Kumar Dhar when he tried to save Sohan.

Arif Ur Rahman Togor/SU