16 Tangail militants get 3-yr imprisonment

Published: 18 October 2016, 05:29 PM
16 Tangail militants get 3-yr imprisonment

A Tangail court awarded 16 members of banned  militant outfit Allahr Dal to three-year rigorous imprisonment to each in April 15, 2007 case in the district.

Additional District and Sessions Judge of Tangail Abul Monsur Mia delivered the verdict on Tuesday and fined the convicts Tk 5,000 each.

The convicts are Shah Mohammad Ferdous, Abu Saeed, Fazal of Palashbari upazila under Gaibandha district, Alam of Rangpur, Rafikul Islam, Abdul Aziz, Bulbul, Delwar, Liton, Chandu, Abdul Khalek, Mine, Alal Uddin, Modon, Munna Selim Miah of Tangail.

Acting on a tip-off a team of police conducted a drive at North court area in Tangail in April 14, 2007 and arrested 16 militants from one Rubi chowdhury’s home. They also recovered huge Jihadi books from their possession.

On 15 April, A case was registered with Tangail Sadar Police Station in this connection.