AL's Shuva wins Tangail-7 by-polls

District Correspondent Tangail
Published: 16 January 2022, 10:03 PM
AL's Shuva wins Tangail-7 by-polls

Awami League nominated candidate Khan Ahmed Shuva has won the by-election to Tangail-7 constituency.

He bagged 1,04,059 votes while his nearest rival Jatiya Party's Zahirul Islam Zahir got 16,773.

The district's senior election officer AHM Kamrul Hasan announced the results on Sunday evening. 

The seat fell vacant after lawmaker Md Ekabbar Hossain died on November 16 last year while undergoing treatment at Combined Military Hospital (CMH) in capital Dhaka.

SM Ershad/SU