PM declares Magura, Panchagarh as landless, homeless free districts

Jago News Desk Published: 21 July 2022, 01:11 PM
PM declares Magura, Panchagarh as landless, homeless free districts
Sheikh Hasina, File Photo

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Thursday announced Magura and Panchagarh landless-and-homeless free districts, as she distributed 26,229 more houses to homeless families across the country as part of her government's effort to ensure housing for the landless people.

Apart from the nine upazilas of the two districts, the premier simultaneously declared another 43 upazilas of different districts of the country as landless-and-homeless free, reports BSS.  

She made the announcement at the houses distribution ceremony at five places in five districts under the third phase of Ashrayan-2 Project, joining virtually from her official residence Ganabhaban.

On this auspicious moment, Sheikh Hasina said, "We are very much happy that due to our initiative we've attained a primary success that all upazilas of two districts became fully free from landless and homeless people."

Apart from these, 43 other upazilas of various districts across the country also got the same status, she said.

"This is the big achievement. I hope that like this way, all districts and upazilas of Bangladesh will be free from landless and homeless people," she said.

Mentioning that every people of the country will have a house and an address, she said, "Insha Allah we will be able to do that. I believe it."

Now, a total of 52 upazilas of different districts, including all the nine upazilas of Panchagarh and Magura districts, have no landless and homeless families.

The 52 upazilas are - Magura Sadar, Sreepur, Mohammadpur and Shalikha in Magura; Atwari, Panchagarh Sadar, Debiganj, Tetulia and Boda in Panchagarh; Nawabganj in Dhaka; Madaripur Sadar; Damudya in Shariatpur; Katiadi in Kishoreganj; Gopalpur in Tangail; Ghior and Saturia in Manikganj; Kalukhali in Rajbari; Nagarkanda in Faridpur; Madan in Netrokona; Bhaluka, Nandail, Phulpur and Fulbaria in Mymensingh; Bakshiganj in Jamalpur; Patiya, Karnaphuli, Satkania and Lohagara in Chattogram; Raipur and Ramganj in Laxmipur; Feni Sadar, Chhagalnaiya, Fulgazi and Parshuram in Feni; Gobindaganj in Gaibandha; Nawabganj in Dinajpur; Baliadangi in Thakurgaon; Dimla in Nilphamari; Raninagar in Naogaon; Panchbibi in Joypurhat; Mohonpur, Charghat and Bagha in Rajshahi; Nandigram and Dupchanchia in Bogura; Bagatipara in Natore; Ishwardi in Pabna; Shibganj in Chapainawabganj; Harinakundu in Jhenaidah; Tala in Satkhira; Kathalia in Jhalakathi and Dashmina in Patuakhali.