Voting underway in 19 upazilas

Staff Reporter Published: 9 June 2024, 10:30 AM | Updated: 9 June 2024, 10:32 AM
Voting underway in 19 upazilas
File Photo

The voting in 19 upazilas, where elections were suspended due to cyclone Remal, is underway on Sunday.

The upazilas are Sarankhola, Morelganj, Mongla of Bagerhat; Koyra, Dumuria, Paikgachha of Khulna; Gournadi, Agailjhara of Barishal; Sadar, Dumki, Mirzaganj of Patuakhali; Mothbaria of Pirojpur; Tazumuddin, Lalmohon of Bhola; Rajapur, Kathalia of Jhalakathi; Bamna, Pathargatha of Borguna and Khaliajuri of Netrakona. 

The voting began 8am and will continue till 4pm without any break.

A total of 330 candidates are competing in the elections. Among them, 119 are vying for the post of chairman, 132 for vice chairman and 79 for the post of female vice chairman.

A total of 30,46,088 voters are expected to exercise their voting rights at 1,181 polling centres.