AL's Habib wins Dhaka-18 by-polls

Staff Reporter Published: 12 November 2020, 09:05 PM | Updated: 12 November 2020, 09:14 PM
AL's Habib wins Dhaka-18 by-polls

Awami League candidate Mohammad Habib Hasan has won the by-polls to Dhaka-18 constituency.

Unofficial results showed that he secured 75,820 votes to beat near rival BNP candidate SM Zahangir Hossain who got 5,369 votes.

Returning officer GM Sahatab Uddin has announced the unofficial results.

The voting started around 8am and ended about 4pm on Thursday without any break.

Besides the Awami League and BNP backed candidates, four ones from Jatiya Party, Bangladesh Congress, Gonofront, and PDP contested in the race.

Dhaka-18 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League lawmaker and former Home Minister Advocate Sahara Khatun.