Tigers restrict West Indies to 148

Sports Reporter Published: 22 January 2021, 03:24 PM | Updated: 22 January 2021, 03:40 PM
Tigers restrict West Indies to 148

Mehidy Hasan took four wickets for 25 to help the Tigers restrict West Indies to 148 runs in the second of the three-match ODI series.

Batting first at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Friday, the Windies were all out in 43.4 overs. 

For the hosts, Shakib Al Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman bagged two wickets each and Hasan Mahmud one. 

For visiting Windies, the highest score, 41, came from Rovman Powell's bat, and Kjorn Ottley and Nkrumah Bonner scored respectively 24 and 20 runs.

Earlier, West Indies captain Jason Mohammed won the toss and opted to bat first.

In the opener, Bangladesh ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan's 4 wickets for 8 propelled the Tigers to secure an easy six-wicket victory over the Windies.

Bangladesh will hit hat trick against West Indies if they win this match. Earlier, the hosts sealed two series against them in 2018. 

Playing XI:

Bangladesh: Liton Das, Tamim Iqbal (capt), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Rubel Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman.

West Indies: Sunil Ambris, Joshua da Silva (wk), Andre McCarthy, Jason Mohammed (capt), Kyle Mayers, Nkrumah Bonner, Rovman Powell, Raymon Reifer, Alzarri Joseph, Akeal Hosein, Kjorn Ottley.