Sri Lanka arrive in Bangladesh for Test series

Jago News Desk Published: 8 May 2022, 09:23 PM | Updated: 8 May 2022, 09:58 PM
Sri Lanka arrive in Bangladesh for Test series
Photo: BSS

The Sri Lanka cricket team arrived in Bangladesh on Sunday for a two-match Test series despite the island nation president Gotabaya Rajapaksa declared a state of emergency for the second time in five weeks on Friday.

The first of the two-match Test series, which is the part ICC World Test Championship, starts at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on May 15 followed by the second and final Test at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium from May 23-27.

The visitors landed at Hazrat Shahjalal International airport at 12.30 PM, one hour after their scheduled time, a BCB official said.

After spending the day at hotel, they will start their activities tomorrow with a training session at National Cricket Academy ground in Mirpur.

They are however scheduled to play a two-day practice game against a BCB XI from May 10-11. The tourists will then travel to Chattogram for the first Test. 

Sri Lanka full squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Chamika Karunaratne, Ramesh Mendis, Suminda Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya.

Source: BSS